The coaches are “very excited” about the talent coming through after the Scotland under-16 squads were named for the 2017 Colwyn Bay Rugby Festival in Wales.

The six-day festival will take place between Thursday, April 6 and Wednesday, April 12 at Parc Eirias where the selected 50 players, split into two teams – the Reds and the Blues – will play fixtures against Welsh sides Dragons, Scarlets and RGC.

Bryan Easson, Head Coach of the Scotland under-16 Reds, said: “We’re very excited about this group of players.

“They have worked hard on and off the field to prepare for this festival and know it is a huge privilege to represent Scotland at this level.”

Steve Lawrie, Head Coach of the Scotland under-16 Blues, added: “The players have stepped up their work ethic and have shown a professional attitude during our recent training camps.

“Selecting 50 players at this stage highlights the abundance of talent we have in Scotland and that the future of Scottish rugby is in safe hands.”

Reds squad

Eck Allan (North Berwick High School / North Berwick)
Dean Anderson (Merchiston Castle School)
Matthew Currie (Merchiston Castle School)
Jamie Dobie (Merchiston Castle School)
Nathanael Fagerson (Sherborne School / Bath)
Jake Fairley (Earlston High School / Melrose)
Dan Gamble (Merchiston High School / Kelso)
Alex Harley (George Watson’s College)
Will Harper (Marchiston Castle School)
Angus Haswell (Caistor Grammar School / Leicester Tigers)
Andrew Hoggarth (Clifton Hall School / Currie)
Fergus Johnstone (Galashiels Academy / Gala)
Scott King (Preston Lodge High School / Preston Lodge)
Angus MacDonald (Warwick School)
Finlay McNeill (Stewart’s Melville College)
Ethan McVicker (Boroughmuir)
Nathan Moffat (Stewart’s Melville College)
Harri Morris (George Watson’s College)
Ben Muncaster (Rugby School / North Berwick)
Harry Paterson (Fettes College)
Addy Robertson (Stewart’s Melville College)
Cameron Scott (Boroughmuir)
Benjamin Slessor (Trent College / Leicester Tigers)
Jamie Stephen (George Watson’s College)
Struan Whittaker (Trinity Academy / BATS)

Blues squad

Luca Alessandri (Kings Park Secondary School / Cartha Queens Park)
George Breese (Glenalmond College)
Callum Brown (Gryffe High School / Bishopton)
Scott Clelland (Prestwick Academy / Ayr)
Greg Clunas (Bell Baxter High School / Howe of Fife)
Jamie Cruickshank (Stirling County)
Jamie Drummond (Auchenleck Academy / Cumnock)
Mathew Fletcher (St Andrews & St Brides High School / East Kilbride)
Cameron Furley (St Albans Boys School / Saracens)
Andrew Hughes (St Aloysius’ College / GHA)
Rory Jackson (Park Mains School / Bishopton)
Finlay Lennox (Robert Gordon’s College)
Finn Livingstone-Learmouth (Wellington College)
Alex Marsh (Strathallan School / Perthshire)
Nick McAllister (St Aloysius’ College)
Finn McIlwraith (Dollar Academy)
Harry Mercer (St Leonards)
Brandon Mills (Glenwood High School / Howe of Fife)
Thomas Ryan (Robert Gordon’s College)
Adam Scott (St Aloysius’ College)
Keir Singleton (Balfron High School / Strathendrick)
Archie Smeaton (Beverley Grammar School / Yorkshire Carnegie)
Mungo Somerville (Waid Academy)
Joseph Strain (Castle Douglas High School / Stewartry)
Colin Taylor (The Glasgow Academy / Glasgow Hawks)

Thanks to Scottish Rugby/SNS for the photo

‘Keep It SCRUM’ for the news and views from all areas of the game – and read SCRUM 92 here

To subscribe for FREE click here


Share This




Enter your email address and each month we'll send you a digital copy
straight to your inbox

You have Successfully Subscribed!