Some of the best young rugby talent in Scotland will be on show on Sunday when the under-18s take on the under-19 development squad at Inverleith, Edinburgh (kick-off 2pm).

Under-18s Head Coach Ally Donaldson has made several changes to his side that lost out 31-17 to England earlier this month, with this fixture serving as a development opportunity ahead of the upcoming International Series, which begins in April and features Ireland, Wales, England, Italy and Canada.

Donaldson, said: “The squad have prepared well to take on Scotland the 19s on Sunday in preparation for the International Festival in Wales next month.

“The under-19s will provide just the sort of physical, intense challenge we will face in Wales where we have three games in eight days.”

Under-18s squad

15 James McCaig (Strathallan School)

14 Johnny Searle (Brighton College/Harlequins)

13 Cammy Symes (Stewart’s Melville College)

12 Grant Hughes (Dollar Academy)

11 Jacob Lineen (Stewart’s Melville College)

10 Matt Davidson (Merchiston Castle School)

9 Rufus McLean (Melrose/Merchiston Castle School)

1 William Owen (Melrose)

2 Finlay Scott (Jed Thistle)

3 Murphy Walker (Strathallan School)

4 Cameron Henderson (Strathallan School)

5 Marshall Sykes (St Joseph’s Ipswich/Northampton Saints)

6 Tyler Thomas (Merchiston Castle School)

7 Connor Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College)

8 Rory Darge (North Berwick High School)

Subs: Josh Eagers (Merchiston Castle School), Andrew McLean (Stirling County), Ross Thompson (Stewart’s Melville College), Jack McCready (Glasgow Academy), James Wilson (George Watson’s College), Angus Fraser (High School of Dundee), Ross Bundy (Stirling County), Jack Hutchison (Sedburgh/Newcastle Falcons).

Scotland under-19 development

The under-19 development squad sees a number of changes from their last match.

Head Coach Don Caskie has made nine personnel changes and one positional switch.

Patrick Anderson, Ben Enyon, Robbie Yourston, Jack Paterson, Kaleem Baretto, Shaun Gunn, Bradley Clements, Callum Eastwood and Ryan Sweeney all come into the starting XV while Dan Marek moves from blind-side flanker to No.8.

Caskie said: “We’re looking forward to testing ourselves against the under-18s on Sunday.”

Under-19s development squad

15 Patrick Anderson (Melrose)

14 Ben Enyon (Glasgow Hawks)

13 Robbie Yourston (Jed Forest)

12 Will Hunt (Preston Grasshoppers)

11 Jack Paterson (Edinburgh Academicals)

10 Kyle Brunton (Hawick)

9 Kaleem Baretto (Glenalmond College)

1 Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Academicals)
2 Bradley Clements (Sedbergh)

3 Calum Eastwood (Watsonians)

4 Dean Roger (Edinburgh Academicals)

5 Jamie Hodgson (Stewart’s Melville)

6Ryan Sweeney (Glasgow Academicals)

7 Angus Hinton (Merchiston Castle)

8 Dan Marek (Currie)

Subs: Jack Samuel (Cardiff Met University), Finn Hobbis (Stewart’s Melville), Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Academicals), Jamie Ross (Northumbria University), George Bordill (Northumbria University), Oliver Cattell (Bath Academy), Jack McLean (Glasgow Academy), Gary Munro (Jed Forest), Jake Hennessey (KCS Wimbledon/Harlequins), Kyle Rowe (Falkirk), Fergus Fitzpatrick (Dollar Academy).

Thanks to Scottish Rugby/SNS for the photos

‘Keep It SCRUM’ for the news and views from all areas of the game – and read SCRUM 92 here

To subscribe for FREE click here


Share This




Enter your email address and each month we'll send you a digital copy
straight to your inbox

You have Successfully Subscribed!