After a thrilling 6 Nations 2017, voting for the prestigious RBS Player of the Championship award is now open and Scots Finn Russell and Stuart Hogg are in the running.

Stand-off Russell was named Man of the Match after the win against Italy at the weekend while full-back Hogg won the award last year.

Players at every 6 Nations match this year have been awarded or deducted points based upon several different performance categories which cover all aspects of the game. These categories are proportionately weighted based on the different positions by an algorithm created by Accenture, Official Technology Partner of the RBS 6 Nations.

This year, Accenture has worked very closely with Accenture Analysis Team member, and former South Africa and Italy Coach, Nick Mallett to draw up a shortlist of 12 players who have displayed specialist skills and outstanding ability throughout the whole Championship. This shortlist is as follows:

Number Name Nationality
1 Louis Picamoles France
2 CJ Stander Ireland
3 Finn Russell Scotland
4 Camille Lopez France
5 Maro Itoje England
6 Owen Farrell England
7 Joe Launchbury England
8 Stuart Hogg Scotland
9 Conor Murray Ireland
10 Sergio Parisse Italy
11 Rhys Webb Wales
12 Ken Owens Wales

Head to to have the final say by voting who should be crowned the RBS Player of the Championship 2017.

Voting closes at noon on Tuesday, March 21.

Finn Russell and Stuart Hogg are pictured by David Gibson/FOTOSPORT with Tommy Seymour on Saturday

‘Keep It SCRUM’ for the news and views from all areas of the game – and read SCRUM 92 here

To subscribe for FREE click here

Share This




Enter your email address and each month we'll send you a digital copy
straight to your inbox

You have Successfully Subscribed!